top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle Innes

So lets talk customers 😁

If you are reading this, then you are probably one of my lovely customers. I meet so many of you while I am out at markets and festivals, and I usually try and make time to talk to as many of you as possible, and it always warms my cockles when you come back and see me. I was at a festival that I do regularly and they had put me in a different spot to normal. I had quite a few people who had been looking for me and were very glad to eventually find me. It does make my little heart sing to hear that people specifically come to find me 💜


I have had quite a few people lately who have bought fleece lined socks or wrist warmers and they have come back to tell me how warm they are and how much they love them. I have one lady who had bought some fleece harems who cam back with two of her friends and they both bought a pair each. It is things like this that make me realise that I am doing something right.

I will also tell people if the item they are trying on doesn't suit them or is the wrong size / colour for them. I would rather be honest with customers and risk losing a sale than have someone get their purchase home and realise I have sold them something totally unsuitable.


So the majority of my customers are really nice, like-minded people, some of which have become close friends, but then I do get the crazy nutters too (I do tend to attract them) and the odd one who is just,,,,well,,,,,,,rude 😂

I always try and greet my browsers, say hello, how are you?, in a no-pressure kind of way, it is just polite. So one lady had been browsing while I was serving another customer, when I had finished I went over to her and asked if she was OK. 'I am OK, are you OK?' she replied, I told her I was great and then said that if she needed any help to just let me know. Her reply was 'madam, I am a fully grown adult and if I needed help I would ask for it!!!' I was quite gobsmacked and just walked away, She may have been having a bad day, but that is one of the rudest people I have had at my stall,


The other thing that makes me a little bit cross is when people ask if that is the best price I can do? I don't think my prices are especially high, and if I can get a good deal from my suppliers I will pass this on to my customers, so you too get a fair price. I get a bit offended if I then lower the price and they come back with an even lower price! I do wonder if they would also do that with their weekly shopping at Tesco - get to the checkout and ask if the cashier can do a better price đŸ€Ł These big companies could probably afford to give them discounts, I am a small independent trader trying to earn enough each week to pay my rent, bills and buy some chocolate. However, if you are one of the hundreds of lovely regular customers who come back and buy things over the year, I will gladly knock a bit off for you 😊


On the whole I have a lovely bunch of people who come and visit me when I am out at the markets, I have enjoyed chatting to loads of you, Sometimes, on slow days, it is just nice to have a bit of company! But please don't feel pressured to buy things every time, it is just nice to have visitors sometimes. The really nice ones even bring really thoughtful gifts, the best ones were edible đŸ©đŸ°đŸȘđŸ„đŸ˜


So if you are one of my regular customers, thank you for supporting me, my market stall is always open to you and I hope to see you again really soon 😘

I have the best customers 🧡💛💙💚💜

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page